Arrow

Call Toll-Free: (855) 4-DUI-LEGAL


Get a Free, no-risk DUI Case Review


DUI Attorneys in St. George, Utah Serving St. George:

Pietryga Law Office, PLLC.

At Pietryga Law Office, criminal defense is all we do.

In the past 15 years serving St. George and Washington County, we have gotten thousands of DUI cases just like yours dismissed, or had charges drastically reduced. Contact or call us at 801-505-1586 today to discuss your case.

Call Now Email Us

About us:

We connect you with the Best DUI Attorney in your area. The DUI Attorneys we work with all have a minimum of 10 years of experience winning DUI cases in Utah.

Can you plea to Impaired Driving?

If this is your first DUI offense in Utah, and your Blood Alcohol Content was less than .14, there is a good chance that a defense attorney can get your charges reduced to impaired driving.

There are several advantages to an impaired driving plea.

If your license has not already been suspended by Utah’s Driver License Division, it will not get suspended.

If your license has been suspended, the Driver License Division will reinstate your driver license before the 120 day suspension is over, but no sooner than 90 days after the date of arrest. And, unlike a DUI, there is no mandatory jail or fine with an impaired driving plea.

If you're facing DUI charges in Utah, contact us for a Free Case Review to see if one of our attorneys can negotiate an impaired driving plea for you.

  • We specialize in satisfied clients. Pietryga Law Office is where police officers, prosecutors and judges turn for help when they are trouble. That's because we can help when no one else can.

    "I was arrested for DUI in December. My family didn't think they would be able to get me out of jail for Christmas - even though I was pulled over for no reason in the first place. Russ [Pietryga] not only got me out of jail, he got my charges dismissed. I recommend him to anyone that wants the best, no-nonsense lawyer in Utah."
    -Curtis N., Salt Lake City UT

  • Pietryga Law Office - Professional Experience

    Russ Pietryga, Managing Attorney

    • Licensed Utah State Bar Member since 1998
    • Member Utah Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
    • Education
      • Eastern Michigan Univeristy, 1995. BS- Public Law & Government
      • Thomas M. Cooley Law School, JD
  • Pietryga Law Office

    1547 Bryan Ave.
    Salt Lake City, UT 84105
    (801) 505-1586


St. George DUI Court Do this first

Time is Limited

Utah law limits the amount of time you have to protect your rights after a DUI arrest. The clock is ticking!

Time is running out.
Call Now About Us

St. George DUI Arrest First Steps

After your DUI arrest in Utah, you must act quickly to protect your Driver’s License, get your car out of impound, and prevent default legal action from being taken against you. Read more about the first steps to take after your DUI arrest and download the forms you need to complete.

Vehicle Impound Recovery

If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Utah, chances are the first thing you’ll want to do is get your car out of impound.

Utah law says:

If a police officer arrests, cites, or refers for administrative action the operator of a vehicle for DUI, the police officer shall seize and impound the vehicle. (See Utah Code Ann. &167;41-6a-527(1)).

To get your vehicle out of impound, you will need to do the following:

  • Go to the nearest DMV Office and present proper evidence of ownership. (eg: title, registration card, bill of sale).
  • Present your copy of the TC-540 Vehicle Impound Report, which is given to you by the arresting officer.
  • Present picture ID.*
  • Pay the $330 DUI impound fee.
  • Obtain a Letter of Impound Release from the DMV.
  • Contact the impound/tow yard. (This is usually listed on the Vehicle Impound Report).
  • Present the above Letter of Impound Release and Picture ID at the impound/tow yard.
  • Pay towing and storage fees.

*If you had a Utah driver license at the time of arrest, it will be confiscated by the arresting officer. It will not be returned to you before your License Hearing. To get your vehicle out of impound, contact your local DMV office to confirm whether or not they will accept the temporary license as identification. If not, you will need to get a State ID Card from the DMV office to obtain the letter of impound release.

Request a License Hearing
Request a license hearing after your St. George DUI arrest.

  • The Utah Driver License Division will automatically suspend your driving privileges if you do not request a DLD (Driver License Division) hearing within 10 calendar days of your arrest.

    Download, print and fill out the DLD Hearing Request Form. Once completed, you can fax this document to (801) 964-4499, or mail it to the PO Box address at the top of the form.

    A DUI Attorney can advise you on ways to keep your driver's license, and having one represent you at your DLD Hearing will greatly improve your chances. Find a Utah DUI Attorney serving your area.
  • Note If you have a Utah Driver’s License at the time of your arrest, it will be confiscated by the arresting officer. Your license will be mailed to the Driver License Division pending the outcome of your license hearing. It will not be returned to you prior to this hearing.
Find the best DUI Attorney

If you are arrested for drunk driving in Utah, a competent DUI lawyer can help you keep your driver's license, keep you out of jail, reduce your penalties and make sure that your interests are represented in court and with the DMV.

You don't want a public defender. Here’s why: Public defenders work in concert with the County Prosecuter’s office to quickly push offenders through the system. If you're facing severe penalties for a DUI, the last thing you want is to have your lawyer working for the prosecution.

Secondly, there's no such thing as a free lunch. Don’t make the mistake of thinking that a public defender is a "free lawyer". You will be charged for their legal fees if you are convicted. Think about that. They get to send you a bill – not if they get you off – only if you are convicted.

If you think we're exaggerating about all this, consider that the ACLU determined Utah's Public Defender's Office to be so stacked against defendants, that it amounted to a violation of the Constitutional Right to Due Process. The Utah Public Defender's Office has even been sued in Federal Court - by their own attorneys.

Utah's DUI penalties can be severe. Find an experienced DUI Attorney with flexible, affordable payment plans that often amount to much less than the fines and fees that come with a conviction. Contact us today to discuss your legal options.

Contact us Get a Free DUI Case Review

Connect with Utah's Best DUI Attorneys and get your drunk driving case reviewed for free.


© 2010-2012 Utah DUI Legal. All Rights Reserved.

The information provided in this site is general information about common legal issues and is not legal advice. USA Legal and Utah DUI Legal are not law firms and communications with us are protected by our Pivacy Policy, but are not protected by attorney-client privilege. We cannot provide legal advice, but would be happy to connect you with a licensed attorney in your area who can.